Houses Are People Houses Are People

Old school roleplay musings

Tower of the Stargazer Key

I made a key for Tower of the Stargazer. You can get it here..

Tower of the Stargazer is an excellent, deadly adventure (designed to be great for beginning players and beginning referees) suitable for OSR rulesets, or B/X, AD&D, D&D 5e, Dungeon World, etc.

When I read it, I found some of the long paragraphs helpful. I was fairly new referee at the time. The book is written in a good format, though it is sometimes needlessly verbose and some sentences and paragraphs are redundant. It’s the kind of book you need to highlight before you actually use it.

With this in mind, I summarized the locations in the adventure in a format much like what Jacob Hurst used for the dungeons in his wonderful Dark of Hot Springs Island. I’m actually imitating Courtney Campbell’s format, which is similar but less well-known. It’s essentially a one-page dungeon format, but it doesn’t all fit on one page. I’m calling this document a key.

This key was incredibly useful to me both times I ran the adventure.

The key does not work without the Tower of the Stargazer book. Follow these steps:

  1. Print the map to use alongside the key.

  2. Read the whole adventure before using the key.

  3. Keep the adventure handy during play so you can reference it for the more complicated bits that I left out of the key (I reference the page numbers wherever this happens.)

Please feel free to suggest improvements. It’s not as polished as I’d like it be, despite some very helpful edits by Duneaught. I found it very useful and wanted to share it.

The key is here..